Album Reviews

Countin' Cards
Escape From The Zoo Countin' Cards Punk Rock Theory
Wednesday, February 9, 2022 - 16:48
submitted by

Escape From The Zoo is the new project from Jesse Sendejas of Days n Daze fame. That should already give you a pretty good idea of what to expect on ‘Countin’ Cards’. Yup, frantic ska-punk with plenty of horn action, upstrokes and everything else you associate with ska. Oh, and the kind of grating vocals that you normally associate with black metal bands.

I’ll be the first to admit that I’m a bit biased towards skapunk. It’s just not my favorite subgenre in punk. But even if I would love to skank like there’s no tomorrow, then I would still be struggling to find anything good to say about songs like opener‘Heads Up 7 Up’ or ‘Wasted Years’ other than that… I dunno, they are really fast? It just all sounds a bit slapped together without any traces of real originality.


Countin' Cards track list:

  1. Heads Up 7 Up
  2. Shit Show
  3. Learning Curve
  4. Sentient Beer
  5. 12 Rounds
  6. Jars O' Fears
  7. Wasted Years
  8. Draft Dodgers
  9. Countin' Cards
Tom Dumarey
Tom Dumarey

Lacking the talent to actually play in a band, Tom decided he would write about bands instead. Turns out his writing skills are mediocre at best as well.