Album Reviews

Whatever Witch You Are
Dead Heavens - Whatever Witch You Are
Monday, June 19, 2017 - 19:09
submitted by

“Whatever Witch You Are” is the name of Dead Heavens’ debut album. No idea what the title means. Then again, I’m not on any psychedelic drugs right now. But that’s okay, you don’t need to be in order to enjoy this one.

In case you don’t know Dead Heavens yet, they are a relatively new band even though its members have already been around for a while. There’s Walter Schreifels (Gorilla Biscuits, Quicksand, Rival Schools,…), Paul Kostabi (White Zombie), Nathan Aguilar (Cults) and Drew Thomas (Youth Of Today, Bold,…). Don’t call it a supergroup though. That shit is lame.

“Whatever Witch You Are” comes with a short intro and eight songs’ worth of bluesy, psychedelic rock. Think big guitars, tons of groove, harmonized vocals and some solid hooks that have as much to do with Cream as with Black Sabbath. There are instant hits like “Away From The Speed” and “Adderall Highway”, there is the trippy epic that is “Gold Tooth”, the garage-y “Bad Luck Child” and the haunting closer “Experience”. Little bit for everyone.

Basically, Dead Heavens is a bunch of accomplished musicians having a good time and paying tribute to the past while at the same time giving yesterday’s sound a second lease on life.


Track listing:

  1. Rainbow Of The Ohm Chart
  2. Basic Cable
  3. Away From The Speed
  4. Bad Luck Child
  5. The Moon Will Listen (But Not The Sun)
  6. Adderall Highway
  7. Gold Tooth
  8. Silver Sea
  9. Experience
Tom Dumarey
Tom Dumarey

Lacking the talent to actually play in a band, Tom decided he would write about bands instead. Turns out his writing skills are mediocre at best as well.