Album Reviews

Sweatpants Party
Sweatpants Party Sweatpants Party Punk Rock Theory
Wednesday, November 30, 2022 - 09:12
submitted by

Sweatpants Party is the new project led by Kevin Apers of Dutch favorites The Apers. What to expect from this self-titled debut album? A dozen shiny pop punk gems about subjects as diverse as IKEA, a craving for Asian food, Super Mario as well as philosophical musings about the functionalities of an elevator. And of course, a healthy dose of self-deprecation.

Recorded with the help of Jagger Holly’s Jay Dee and Stockkampf’s Frizzante and featuring guest appearances by members of *take a deep breath* The Mugwumps, Ratcliffs, 7 Years Bad Luck, GoMax, Stockkampf and Shirley Maclaines *exhale*, the songs on ‘Sweatpants Party’ once again allow Kevin to show off his ability to write fast-paced, energetic and melodic pop punk tunes that will delight the hearts of fans of Ramones, The Queers, Screeching Weasel and of course, The Apers.


Sweatpants Party track list:

  1. IKEA    
  2. Gimme Gimme Wok Treatment    
  3. Happy Heart    
  4. Fuckin' Useless    
  5. I Will Never Drink Again    
  6. Never Leave You    
  7. Elevator    
  8. Wasting No More Tears    
  9. Super Disappointed    
  10. Weird Brain    
  11. Nibb-It Party    
  12. Luigi / Mario


Tom Dumarey
Tom Dumarey

Lacking the talent to actually play in a band, Tom decided he would write about bands instead. Turns out his writing skills are mediocre at best as well.