Album Reviews

The Skullingtons En Punk Rock Theory
Wednesday, November 11, 2020 - 10:52
submitted by

After toiling and slaving over their first batch of songs for six years, Norway’s The Skullingtons have finally released their debut full-length on Monster Zero Records. ‘En’ comes with 14 songs worth of buzzsaw guitars, catchy hooks and sweet lyrics about topics as diverse the zombie apocalypse, necrophiliacs, stalking the love of your life and sausage fests. All delivered at your doorstep in just under 27 minutes.

We had the pleasure of premiering the video for ‘Highschool of the Dead’ earlier this year. And listening to ‘En’, it quickly becomes clear that that song was no fluke. All of the tunes on here are an absolute pleasure to listen to. From the band’s theme song ‘S.K.UL.L.I.N.G.T.O.N.S.’ and the very Ramones-y ‘Phantom Limb’ and ‘Jenna Is A Necrophiliac’ to the doo wop-influenced ‘No Spark’ and The Lillingtons-esque ‘I Don’t Wanna Go On The Murder Train’, this one pretty much guarantees good times will be had.


Track listing:

  1. S.K.U.L.L.I.N.G.T.O.N.S.
  2. Phantom Limb
  3. Jenna is a Necrophiliac
  4. She Could Be The One
  5. No Spark
  6. Mentally Challenged
  7. I.D.W.G.O.T.M.T.
  8. Highschool of the Dead
  9. Restraining Order
  10. Cali Nova
  11. Forgetting You
  12. Sausage Fest
  13. You're Not The One
  14. Red Son Of Russia


Tom Dumarey
Tom Dumarey

Lacking the talent to actually play in a band, Tom decided he would write about bands instead. Turns out his writing skills are mediocre at best as well.