Album Reviews

Super American - Disposable
Tuesday, April 18, 2017 - 16:27
submitted by

We live in scary and confusing times right now. Terrorist attacks rule the headlines, a bizarre man with tiny hands is living in the White House (when he isn’t out golfing or spending the weekend in Florida) and on top of that, we now get to worry about a possible nuclear war. Luckily, we still have bands like Super American who can let us forget the world is going to shit, even if it’s just for a little while.


The seven songs that make up “Disposable” are of the extremely poppy kind. Just listen to opening track “Sloppy Jazz” once with its slick chorus and infectious na-na-na’s and try not to smile. “Feeling Better” and “Dearly Beloved” are up next. Both are the kind of songs that wouldn’t have looked out of place on the soundtrack of a 90ies comedy, all sun-drenched, overtly optimistic and a well-aimed blast of youthful energy. They then go for a “Hey There Delilah” moment with the acoustic “Missing Pieces”, before slinging three more cutesy slices of pop-punk your way.


Will “Disposable” blow you away? Not really. Bands like Lit, Bowling For Soup and a zillion other bands have already done a similar thing. But the EP does come with a high feel-good factor and that has to count for something, right?


Track listing:

  1. Sloppy Jazz
  2. Feeling Better
  3. Dearly Beloved
  4. Missing Pieces
  5. Congratulations
  6. Dumb
  7. Rebel's Yell
Tom Dumarey
Tom Dumarey

Lacking the talent to actually play in a band, Tom decided he would write about bands instead. Turns out his writing skills are mediocre at best as well.