Album Reviews

Hard Feelings
Future Teens - Hard Feelings
Friday, October 6, 2017 - 23:14
submitted by

- by Nate Hennon

For a band that claims to have started as a joke, Future Teens' debut full-length album, "Hard Feelings," seems pretty serious. As a Self-Proclaimed "Bummer Pop" band, these Bostonians excel at blending the sad with the pleasant. With a ton of fuzzy guitar, open drums, and slow-driving guitars,  Future Teens never turns it up to 11 but still is effective at highlighting their musicality. Lyrically Future Teens tackle traditional subjects of loneliness, dating and navigating aging in the modern world.


More closely related to the recent genre explosion of Emo Revivalist, Future Teens may have trouble setting themselves apart from the crowd. However, Future Teens' "Hard Feelings" is not short on hooks and melodic song styling will aid in this endeavor. But for now, I am hopeful to hear more Future Teens and am interested to see what their future (pun intended) will be. And, I have a feeling (also pun intended) the song on "Hard Feelings" translate too well in the live setting.


Track listing:

  1. Sleep Schedule
  2. What's My Sign Again?
  3. Girlfriend On A Gap Year
  4. In Love Or Whatever
  5. Expiration Dating
  6. Learned Behavior
  7. Party Ethic
  8. Kissing Chemistry
  9. Giving Up On Crushes
  10. D.T.F.L



Tom Dumarey
Tom Dumarey

Lacking the talent to actually play in a band, Tom decided he would write about bands instead. Turns out his writing skills are mediocre at best as well.