Album Reviews

Secret Free World
Shoplifters Secret Free World Punk Rock Theory
Saturday, September 28, 2019 - 09:01
submitted by

- by Tom Dumarey

From Novi Sad, Serbia comes Shoplifters, a band that consists of four dudes who have spent way more time listening to 80ies punk rock than is probably good for you. Although I have to admit that they did kinda make a badass album with ‘Secret Free World’.

The album comes with eleven songs that sound like Bob Mould fronting Big Drill Car with the Replacements looking on from the sideline. Cuts like ‘Overdoser’ and the organ-enhanced ‘Fortifier’ sound instantly familiar with the latter giving off a bit of a Snuff vibe as well. If you are looking for some urgency, they have got you covered with ‘Between Us’ while tracks like ‘Everybody’s Nobody’s Fool’ and closer ‘Do Better’ show off the band’s poppier side. Point is... whatever side they decide to show off, they always pull it off and make it sound good.

‘Secret Free World’ is out now as a co-release between Brassneck Records, Bartolini Records, Waterslide Records, White Russian Records and PopKid Records.


Track listing:

  1. Erase    
  2. Overdoser    
  3. Secret Free World    
  4. Everybody's Nobody's Fool    
  5. When Travelling    
  6. Between Us    
  7. Saved By The Bell    
  8. Fortifier    
  9. Wrong    
  10. Familiar Song    
  11. Do Better


Tom Dumarey
Tom Dumarey

Lacking the talent to actually play in a band, Tom decided he would write about bands instead. Turns out his writing skills are mediocre at best as well.