Album Reviews

odd robot amnesiatic
Saturday, August 4, 2018 - 12:33
submitted by

- by Tom Dumarey

For some weird and unexplicable reason, Odd Robot’s previous album, 2017’s ‘A Late Night Panic’, flew under the radar so completely that it was hard to believe. The few of you who did manage to pick up on its vapor trails, were rewarded with some solid power-pop meets pop-punk tunes. Here’s to hoping the same won’t happen to ‘Amnesiatic’, the Fullerton, CA outfit’s new album which came out yesterday via Wiretap Records.

And guess what? You get more solid power-pop meets pop-punk tunes. Fourteen of them to be exact. From the excellent opener that is ‘Sell Your Soul’ and the Sugarcult-ish title track via ‘Take me Away’ and ‘Boil Through’ to ‘West Coast Girls’ and album closer ‘Screech The Turns’, Odd Robot channel their inner Alkaline Trio, pay respect to Smoking Popes and dish out a seemingly endless supply of big hooks and catchy choruses while they are at it.


Track listing:

  1. Sell Your Soul    
  2. Amnesiatic    
  3. Rescue, Rescue    
  4. Take Me Away    
  5. Cemetery Business Model    
  6. Honestly, I’m Tired    
  7. Green and Yellow Wires    
  8. Boil Through    
  9. Nothing to Do with Anything, but     
  10. Cover of Moonlight
  11. Schadenfreude    
  12. Hole Inside
  13. West Coast Girls
  14. Screech the Turns
Tom Dumarey
Tom Dumarey

Lacking the talent to actually play in a band, Tom decided he would write about bands instead. Turns out his writing skills are mediocre at best as well.