Album Reviews

Strange Peace
Metz - Strange Peace
Sunday, September 24, 2017 - 12:20
submitted by

Metz, the Toronto-based trio that take pleasure in your discomfort, is back with album number three. And while they still attack all your senses, they did add a little more diversity this time around.


Don’t worry, “Strange Peace” still comes at you with Big Black-levels of abrasiveness. But vocalist/guitarist Alex Edkins and his formidable rhythm section (Chris Slorach and Hayden Menzies) have added little splashes of harmony and seem interested in exploring the eye of the storm rather than constantly being the eyewall that levels everything in sight. This exploration leads to whole new levels of intensity, which have never sounded better than now thanks to the production skills of Steve Albini.


Track listing:

  1. Mess of Wires
  2. Drained Lake
  3. Cellophane
  4. Play
  5. Caterpillar
  6. Lost in the Blank City
  7. Mr. Plague
  8. Sink
  9. Common Trash
  10. Escalator Teeth
  11. Dig a Hole
  12. Raw Materials