Album Reviews

Tropical Depression
Florida Man Tropical Depression Punk Rock Theory
Monday, May 13, 2019 - 12:10
submitted by

- by Tom Dumarey

Don’t try Googling this band’s name. It’s pointless. All you will stumble across are a shitload of memes about Florida Man doing weird shit. Other than them sharing the name, I do feel like the music by these Charleston, SC noise-punks would actually provide a solid soundtrack to Florida Man’s antics.

The songs that make up ‘Tropical Depression’ are noisy, messy slabs of noise rock meets post-hardcore that are about as in-your-face as one can get without actually punching you. Riffs grind, jab and scratch, the drums and rumbling bass lines will pummel your ass into the ground and Jim O’Connor’s howls and screams will make the whole thing feel even more uncomfortable. Throughout these eight songs, this foursome dabs in 90ies noise a la The Jesus Lizard, Unsane and Shellac while also channeling Fugazi and These Arms Are Snakes for good measure. Whatever sound they decide to settle on, the end result is as uncompromising and relentless as it is downright badass.


Track listing:

  1. Brain Cell
  2. Dirt
  3. Conviction
  4. Holy Roller
  5. Rat On The Loose
  6. Weeded
  7. Sunshine
  8. Life Insurance


Tom Dumarey
Tom Dumarey

Lacking the talent to actually play in a band, Tom decided he would write about bands instead. Turns out his writing skills are mediocre at best as well.