Album Reviews

Cheap Whine
Cheap Whine - Cheap Whine
Saturday, August 5, 2017 - 12:57
submitted by

Cheap Whine is a new power-pop/garage-y punk band out of Canada that might not ring any bells just yet. But the band features Steve Adamyk (from Steve Adamyk Band) along with Eric French from Feral Trash and Jordy Bell from Crusades.


Together they crank out thirteen tracks’ worth of intensely buzzing guitars, toe-tapping rhythms and big hooks. Think Marked Men. You get excellent punked up power-pop in songs like “Kasumi” and “All The While” alongside the properly raging “Unnoticed”, but they will just as well get a little psychedelic on your ass with “Cut It Out”.


The entire album feels instantly familiar and while it really isn’t all that different from what Steve Adamyk does in his other band, I fail to see why that should be a problem. I mean, you can never have enough songs like this, right? Especially when they sound as good as they do on Cheap Whine’s self-titled debut.  


Track listing:

  1. Opening
  2. Kasumi
  3. A Little Change
  4. Unnoticed
  5. Where Are You Now
  6. Step Off
  7. Withdrawl
  8. Masquerade
  9. Cut It Out
  10. Fall
  11. All The While
  12. Best Times
  13. Letter To J