Album Reviews

Marvelous Mark - Buzzin'
Monday, August 28, 2017 - 13:48
submitted by

The two flies getting it on on the album cover will probably only appeal to bestiality lovers, but the fourteen songs on the album have a much broader appeal. You might remember Marvelous Mark from Toronto’s noisepoppers The Marvelous Darlings. When that band broke up, he simply kept going on his own. This previously led to last year’s “Crushin’” and now to “Buzzin’”, which collects his two previously released EPs along with a couple of new demos.


What to expect? Well, the guy sure seems to love his fuzz pedal, big hooks and the kind of wavering guitars that you usually associate with Dinosaur Jr filtered through a haze of bong smoke. Throw in some of Teenage Fanclub’s nonchalance and you should have a pretty good idea of what to expect. A little more variety wouldn’t have hurt things, but overall “Buzzin’” is a fun way to spend a little over half an hour.


Track listing:

  1. Like It Shows
  2. Pretty Houses
  3. Speed With Goldie
  4. Loner
  5. On The Side
  6. Doin' Nothing Demo
  7. Fade Away
  8. I Don't Mind
  9. I Want You
  10. Tell Me
  11. Bite Me
  12. Waiting
  13. Freaking Out