Album Reviews

Zoanoids Effigy Punk Rock Theory
Sunday, April 23, 2023 - 11:47
submitted by

On their sophomore album ‘Effigy,’ Zoanoids are back with even more sci-fi and horror-themed Ramonescore vibes. Following a moody intro, the Michigan-based band burst right out the gates with ‘Disintegrate,’ an energetic album highlight that prepares you for what’s to come.

Expect nothing but buzzing guitars, the sweetest of guitar licks, the darkest of lyrics and songs that will bring Lillingtons’ finest material to mind. Whether it’s the more poppy ‘Disintegrate’ or ‘Irrationality’, the lightning-fast ‘The Order Of Three Chords’ or the unapologetic ‘Cenobites’, Zoanoids always deliver and more than live up to the expectations set with their self-titled debut.


Effigy track list:

  1. Gather for the Effigy
  2. Disintegrate
  3. Rats in the Walls
  4. Irrationality
  5. Tres Rios
  6. Midnight Channel
  7. Hymn to the Effigy
  8. The Order of Three Chords
  9. Shadow of the Century
  10. 10,000 Young
  11. Le Noir
  12. E.M.P
  13. Cenobites
  14. Dead by Daylight
  15. Abandon the Effigy


Tom Dumarey
Tom Dumarey

Lacking the talent to actually play in a band, Tom decided he would write about bands instead. Turns out his writing skills are mediocre at best as well.