Album Reviews

Pop Punk Burgermag
Kryye Pop Punk Burgermag Punk Rock Theory
Saturday, January 20, 2024 - 14:59
submitted by

All the way from South Africa comes Kryye,who have just released their debut album ‘Pop Punk Burgermag,’ out now on cassette via Hey Pizza! Records.

Clocking in at just over 15 minutes, ‘Pop Punk Burgermag’ shows a promising band that breezes through 11 short pop-punk blasts that owe a lot to the almighty Ramones and the majority of Lookout! Records’ roster from back in the day. Sure, it’s not very original, the drums could use a little more variety and I’m not sure why I’m hearing just one guitar when they have two guitarists, but there’s no denying that songs like ‘Where You At’, ‘Gutvol, Tacoma’ and ‘Goeie More’ are charming and catchy and chock full of youthful enthusisasm. The Green Day cover of ‘Do Da Do’ that rounds out the album, is a nice bonus.


Pop Punk Burgermag track list:

  1. Sanda Duval
  2. We Go, Yugo    
  3. Where You At    
  4. Aikona, Phyllis    
  5. Gutvol, Tacoma    
  6. Cape Town
  7. Sea Side    
  8. Goeie More    
  9. Grow Up, Okay    
  10. Hasselhoff    
  11. Do Da Da (Digital Only)


Tom Dumarey
Tom Dumarey

Lacking the talent to actually play in a band, Tom decided he would write about bands instead. Turns out his writing skills are mediocre at best as well.