Album Reviews

Hell On Earth
Swan Prince Hell On Earth Punk Rock Theory
Saturday, August 8, 2020 - 09:27
submitted by

From the Midlands of the UK, Swan Prince comes swooping in with their debut album, ‘Hell On Earth’. Musically, this bunch takes a cue or two from the kind of 90’s Epi/Fat bands we all grew up on and then add their own distinctive flair to it. That’s not in the least thanks to vocalist Rachel, who sounds all mellow, relaxed and highly melodic over hi-speed drums and ADHD-riddled riffs.

It’s a combination that works well for them, especially when coupled to the kind of strong, poppy melodies on cuts like opener ‘Sympathy Smile’, the title track and ‘A Letter To Myself’. At times it does feel like the vocals are a bit too up front in the mix, taking away from the guitar leads. But that is the sole point of criticism over what is otherwise an enjoyable album.


Track listing:

  1. Sympathy Smile
  2. Hidden love Song
  3. Things Change
  4. You're Toast
  5. Hell On Earth
  6. Not My World
  7. Eyes
  8. A Letter To Myself
  9. Poison
  10. Rogue
  11. Bite Me
  12. Third's A Charm
  13. Triskaidekaphilia


Tom Dumarey
Tom Dumarey

Lacking the talent to actually play in a band, Tom decided he would write about bands instead. Turns out his writing skills are mediocre at best as well.