Album Reviews

The SUCK In-cog-neat-o Punk Rock Theory
Saturday, February 23, 2019 - 20:49
submitted by

- by Tom Dumarey

Just from looking at the song titles, you can tell these guys are pretty straight-forward. There’s a song about a guy getting catfished (‘The Catfish’), a song dedicated to the sport that is flip cup (‘Flip Cup’) and a track about a death machine (‘The Death Machine’). Yup, what you see is pretty much what you get. Except for the band name... because The SUCK don’t actually suck. They play pretty decent Ramonescore heavily indebted to bands like the Lillingtons, the Vapids and HEAD. Nothing new, but always fun when done well.

‘In-cog-neat-o’ comes with eight short songs that are usually well over before they hit the two-minute mark. The band clearly does not like to waste precious time on things like intros or outros, they just kick down the door with simple yet highly effective drumming, buzzing guitars and the occasional guitar lick that makes things go down even smoother. The only downside? Well, asking for variety with this kinda sound is pushing things, but still... maybe just a little more variation next time around?


Track listing:

  1. #youredead
  2. Flip Cup
  3. Vape Store
  4. El Cucuy
  5. The Death Machine
  6. Basement Buzz
  7. Forks High
  8. The Catfish
Tom Dumarey
Tom Dumarey

Lacking the talent to actually play in a band, Tom decided he would write about bands instead. Turns out his writing skills are mediocre at best as well.