Album Reviews

Salt To Taste
Suck Brick Kid Salt To Taste Punk Rock Theory
Wednesday, November 13, 2019 - 21:12
submitted by

On their debut full-length, Central Florida’s Suck Brick Kid tear through ten songs like they have something to get off their chest. Want to guess what? Not that hard seeing as this is a pop-punk album. Which means that chances are about 10 to 1 the songs are about relationships gone wrong. And that’s exactly what cuts like ‘Get Even’, ‘Sofa King’ and ‘I Hate U2’ deal with while elsewhere on the album ‘Granola Cereal Clusters’ comes across as an exercise in finding out how many times you can work the word ‘fuck’ in your lyrics. Subtle this is not.

Produced by Andrew Wade (A Day To Remember, Neck Deep), everything sounds all beefed up with the meters turned all the way to massive. Again, subtle this is not. But I have to hand it to Suck Brick Kid, they know how to write a slick pop-punk song. Maybe not the most original tunes but hey, if you end up sounding like the missing link between New Found Glory and Red City Radio then I guess you must be doing something right.


Track listing:

  1. How The West Was Won
  2. Get Even
  3. Sleeping With Gozer
  4. Sofa King
  5. Doug Panther & Candy Leopard (Forever)
  6. I Hate U2
  7. Granola Cereal Clusters
  8. Here In My Car
  9. Missed Calls (2)
  10. Battered & Broken
Tom Dumarey
Tom Dumarey

Lacking the talent to actually play in a band, Tom decided he would write about bands instead. Turns out his writing skills are mediocre at best as well.