Album Reviews

Truth In Comedy
Steady Hands Truth In Comedy Punk Rock Theory
Wednesday, October 24, 2018 - 16:55
submitted by

- by Tom Dumarey

Originally started as a solo project by Modern Baseball’s Sean Huber back in 2012, Steady Hands has since grown into a full-fledged band where Huber is helped out by a merry band of Philadelphia-based musicians. Together, they previously released a compilation of early material called ‘Rude Boys Of Bar Rock’, which makes ‘Truth In Comedy’ their first ever full-length album.

With the help of producer Brian McTear (Dr. Dog, Mewithoutyou, The War On Drugs), the band holed up in the studio to record songs like punky opener ‘40x’, the emo-meets-Americana ‘New Tattoo’ or the excellent single that is ‘Indifferent Belushi’ and which packs a ton of easy-going swagger. The one thing these rock ‘n roll songs have in common – other than being rock ‘n roll songs torn straight from the heartland - is that they are all heart and gush big, beautiful melodies.

Of course I’m hoping Modern Baseball will be back to business as usual sometime soon, but until that happens I’m perfectly fine with seeing with Huber will be up to with Steady Hands.


Track listing:

  1. 40x
  2. No More Funerals
  3. New Tattoo
  4. Saint Lucas
  5. Indifferent Belushi
  6. Drop D and Dance Beats
  7. Old House
  8. Magazines
  9. Better Days
  10. Christmas at the 'Vous
Tom Dumarey
Tom Dumarey

Lacking the talent to actually play in a band, Tom decided he would write about bands instead. Turns out his writing skills are mediocre at best as well.