Album Reviews

All It Takes To Ruin It All
no thank you all it takes to ruin it all
Wednesday, April 11, 2018 - 17:12
submitted by

Just last year, Philadelphia-based band No Thank You released their debut album, ‘Jump Ship’. That doesn’t stop them from already being back with ‘All It Takes To Ruin It All,’ a raw and very honest album written in the wake of the death of vocalist Kaytee Della-Monica’s father.

Bordering between indie pop and heavier 90ies-inspired rock, the ten songs that make up ‘All It Takes To Ruin It All’ find Della-Monica and the rest of the band moving through the different stages of grief, sounding resigned one second, sonically dense and distraught the next. All of the songs have a kind of stream-of-consciousness type thing going on as well. If you manage to spot a hook or a chorus, you can be relatively sure it won’t make a second appearance in the song. Some of the songs aren’t even long enough for a second appearance of anything. It may not make ‘All It Takes To Ruin It All’ the easiest album to listen to, but it is most definitely cathartic.


Track listing:

  1. Furrowed Brows
  2. Cubic Zirconia
  3. Dash
  4. Branch Doubt
  5. New England Patriots
  6. Hell Bent
  7. Limitlessly Cheap
  8. Outdoor Cat
  9. Veranda
  10. Space To Grieve
Tom Dumarey
Tom Dumarey

Lacking the talent to actually play in a band, Tom decided he would write about bands instead. Turns out his writing skills are mediocre at best as well.