Album Reviews

No Cure For Death
SECT No Cure For Death
Wednesday, December 6, 2017 - 19:53
submitted by

SECT — the hardcore supergroup comprising Chris Colohan (Cursed, Burning Love, Left for Dead), guitarists James Chang (Catharsis, Undying) and Scott Crouse (Earth Crisis, The Path of Resistance), bassist Steve Hart (Day of Suffering), and drummer Andy Hurley (Racetraitor, Fall Out Boy, The Damned Things) – is not for the faint of heart. It is however a brutal attack on all of the senses that probably sums up better how must of us feel about today’s state of the world than all of our outraged Facebook statuses combined.

Recorded with Kurt Ballou at GodCity studios, ‘No Cure For Death’ is absolutely relentless. Guitars thrash, claw and howl like rabid dogs. Blastbeats seem hellbent on wiping entire countries off the map. And Colohan – while mostly undecipherable – seems plenty pissed off as he spews lines like ‘you built whole worlds on the back of the dead’. There is a lot to be said for when they drop the pace for a bit in a cut like ‘Avoidance Ritual’. Then again, shit simply goes boom! when they get downright feral in the 45-second blast that is ‘Born Razed’.


Track listing:

  1. Open Grave
  2. Day For Night
  3. Crocodile Prayers
  4. Reality's Wake
  5. Stripes
  6. Liberal Arts
  7. Born Razed
  8. Transaction
  9. Least Resistance
  10. Avoidance Ritual