Album Reviews

Unsane Sterilize
Sunday, October 22, 2017 - 20:20
submitted by

Five years after their last album and godknowshowmany years into the band’s existence, Unsane is back with “Sterilize”. At this point in time, I think it’s fair to say that these New York noisemongers will probably never change course. But in Unsane’s case, that is hardly a bad thing.


I mean, saying these guys have their sound down pat just doesn’t really cover it. They are an incredibly tight outfit that has been playing together for a long time. And it shows. The ten songs that make up “Sterilize” don’t just wash over you, they pull you under and refuse to let go. The mix of sludge and noise is über-brutal and Chris Spencer’s vocals are still as distorted and nasty as his riffs are… well, distorted and nasty. Meanwhile the rhythm tandem that is bassist Dave Curran and drummer Vinnie Signorelli pummel your senses. And just when you think you can’t take any more of this relentless beating, they let in just enough melody to make things tolerable again.


Is “Sterilize” innovative? Fuck no. Does it have everything you could possibly want from an Unsane album? Yes, it does.

Track isting:

  1. Factory
  2. The Grind
  3. Aberration
  4. No Reprieve
  5. Lung
  6. Inclusion
  7. Distance
  8. A Slow Reaction
  9. Parasitic
  10. Avail