Album Reviews

It's Only Permanent
Rational Anthem It's Only Permanent Punk Rock Theory
Sunday, December 29, 2019 - 15:35
submitted by

Rational Anthem is a pop-punk band made up of sister/brother duo Noelle and Pete Stolp and longtime friend Christopher Hembrough. Originally from Florida, the trio made the choice to move from their small town in Florida to Iowa City, hoping it would give them a chance to focus on the band together, and simplify tour routings. And focus they did, spending the better part of three years writing and rewriting their record until they felt they landed on the best possible version of their sound. And having listened to ‘It’s Only Permanent’ countless times, I can only say they did a friggin’ amazing job.

‘It’s Only Permanent’ is one of those albums where the songs never wear out their welcome and sound instantly familiar. Well, at least to anyone who has ever listened to early Blink. They combine bristling energy, big, melodic hooks and killer choruses on cuts like opener ‘Welcome To Paradise City’, ‘Unimaginary Girlfriend’ and ‘Godspeed You! Black Empanada’in a way that comes off as effortless and spontaneous. Every single song - and as a result the whole album - has such a great flow that you can’t help but get swept up. 2019 era Blink-182 can only dream of still being able to write songs like this.  


Track listing:

  1. Welcome To Paradise City
  2. Photographic Memory
  3. Let It Go
  4. Unimaginary Girlfriend
  5. Stay Together For The Chicks
  6. Geographic Dysphoria
  7. Alright Already
  8. Godspeed You! Black Empanada
  9. Dragger
  10. Better Get Better
  11. Through Being Punk
Tom Dumarey
Tom Dumarey

Lacking the talent to actually play in a band, Tom decided he would write about bands instead. Turns out his writing skills are mediocre at best as well.