Album Reviews

Dead Bars Regulars Punk Rock Theory
Friday, May 10, 2019 - 16:34
submitted by

- by Tom Dumarey

For their second album, Seattle’s Dead Bars shacked up in the studio with none other than Jack Endino (Nirvana, Soundgarden, The Afghan Whigs). Smart decision if you ask me, because while Endino managed to keep the band’s grittiness and slightly messy sound intact, he brushed up the band’s melodies and made the guitars sound even bigger. The end result? A party album for all the outcasts.

Almost all of the songs that make up ‘Regulars’ are of the Pkew Pkew Pkew meets classic rock meets Latterman variety. Chock full of melodies, loud as fuck guitars and shout-along choruses and so full of boisterous energy, that they constantly sound like they are going to trip over one another.

Play this one at full blast next time you go out with your friends. It’s the perfect soundtrack for an evening of drunken decisions and late night regrets.


Track listing:

  1. Freaks
  2. I'm A Regular
  3. Pink Drink
  4. Producto Toxico
  5. Time Takes Away
  6. Rain
  7. Lucky
  8. No Tattoos
  9. I Need You
  10. Another Day
  11. You Never Left


Tom Dumarey
Tom Dumarey

Lacking the talent to actually play in a band, Tom decided he would write about bands instead. Turns out his writing skills are mediocre at best as well.