Album Reviews

Piss Test - LPII
Saturday, May 13, 2017 - 18:58
submitted by

Portland punk outfit Piss Test are co-fronted by the married couple that is Samantha Gladu and Zach Brooks, who you might know from Red Dons. The line-up is further rounded out by another ex-Red Donner, Rodrigo Diaz.

Their new album, aptly titled “LPII”, is out now via Dirt Cult Records and comes with eleven raw as fuck, garage-y hardcore punk tunes that have as much to do with Dead Kennedys as they do with The Proletariat. The lyrics follow suit and easily match the music in bluntness. The band rages against sexism in the music industry one minute in “Talkin’ Shit” (well, actually it’s 1 minute and 28 seconds), while a title like “Abortion Fund” doesn’t leave much to the imagination. Oh, and “Arizona Cops” isn’t exactly a declaration of love to the boys in blue either.

If you want to know what punk sounded like back in the day, you could… you know, listen to the albums that actually came out back then. But this one comes highly recommended as well… it rips from start to finish.


Track listing:

  1. Marianne
  2. Talkin' Shit
  3. Dennis Rides an Elephant
  4. Nerd Zoo
  5. Why Are You Outside?
  6. Teenager
  7. Arizona Cops
  8. Basement
  9. Open Bar/Blaque Chris
  10. Abortion Fund
  11. Whole Lot of Whole Lotta Rosie



Tom Dumarey
Tom Dumarey

Lacking the talent to actually play in a band, Tom decided he would write about bands instead. Turns out his writing skills are mediocre at best as well.