Album Reviews

New Arrows
Personality Cult New Arrows Punk Rock Theory
Sunday, February 23, 2020 - 10:14
submitted by

What originally started as a solo project for North Carolina’s Ben Carr has grown into a solid new addition to the Dirtnap roster. Boasting a supergroup-ish line-up with past and present members of Paint Fumes, Last Year’s Men, Natural Causes, Bass Drum Of Death, Missing Pages, Mind Spiders, Sweet Talk, Sweet Knives, and probably a bunch more, ‘New Arrows’ comes at you with nine tracks worth of punk jams that should not sound all that unfamiliar to those of you already acquainted with the Dirtnap Records family. Add a dark twist and power-pop hooks for days, and you are looking at one powerful blast.

Produced by Radioactivity/Marked Men’s Jeff Burke and with just nine songs clocking in at 25 minutes, there is no room for filler on ‘New Arrows’. But it’s on cuts like openening track ‘Nothing To Do With It’, ‘Pressure Point’ and ‘Sharp Edges’, that Personality Cult really takes things to the next level.


Track listing:

  1. Nothing To Do With It
  2. Weigh Down
  3. Pressure Point
  4. Circles
  5. Figure
  6. Sharp Edges
  7. Telephone
  8. Dissolve You
  9. 5:30


Tom Dumarey
Tom Dumarey

Lacking the talent to actually play in a band, Tom decided he would write about bands instead. Turns out his writing skills are mediocre at best as well.