Album Reviews

Proud Parents
Friday, June 29, 2018 - 22:43
submitted by

After a decade of having been friends and playing in punk bands together in Madison, WI, Claire Nelson-Lifson and Tyler Fassnacht started writing songs for what would become Proud Parents. With Heather Sawyer (drums/vocals) and Maggie Denman (bass) rounding out the line-up, they have been wreaking havoc throughout the Midwest ever since.


On their self-titled debut, they treat you to thirteen garage-y power-pop songs that are as melodic and upbeat as they are jangly and lo-fi. Claire, Heather and Tyler all share vocal duties as they dive headfirst into themes such as anxiety, isolation loss and moving on. Much like a regular conversation, they all pitch in here and there before bursting out in yet another harmony-laden chorus. Well, maybe that last part is not a regular part of conversations. Anyway… all of this is backed up by a whole bunch of delicious sloppiness with snappy guitar solos and big, big hooks. Like, really big.


Proud Parents might not have made the best album you will hear this year, but songs like ‘Ducktales’, ‘Baby’ and the jumbly mess that is ‘Flavordust’ are sure to plaster a goofy smile all over your face. Hell, they even have a theme song!


Track listing:

  1. Proud Parents    
  2. Hypnotoad    
  3. 2 Fast 2 Serious    
  4. Ducktales    
  5. Flavordust    
  6. Something To Talk About    
  7. Happy    
  8. T Street Shuffle    
  9. Dead Wrong    
  10. Take My Hand    
  11. Stuck    
  12. Baby    
  13. Proud Parents (slow)



Tom Dumarey
Tom Dumarey

Lacking the talent to actually play in a band, Tom decided he would write about bands instead. Turns out his writing skills are mediocre at best as well.