Album Reviews

Memento Mori
Matt Pryor - Memento Mori
Tuesday, February 14, 2017 - 19:44
submitted by

- by Nate Hennon

Matt Pryor is one of my favorite songwriters. I loved his work in The Get Up Kids, which includes “The Guilt Show” and “On A Wire,” two TGUK albums that do not get enough praise. Also, I think how he put out a double album of both stripped down and fully produced songs on The New Amsterdams’s “Killed or Cured” is a musical achievement. I even bought two of his ‘music for kids’ albums when my son was born.

However, his solo work never really hit me. I was afraid Matt Pryor’s ‘Lennon-esque’ musical sensibilities would be too dark and depressing to listen to joyously. I was partially right, but also very wrong. Matt Pryor’s latest solo album, “Memento Mori,” is dark and rather depressing, but still a delight. Pryor does come across as bitter in most of his post-“Something to Write Home About” music, but the dude can write a song. “Memento Mori” is not upbeat, but ideal for a heartbreak or a lonely winter night. The apex of the album is “Stay.” It is mostly a dance between minimal piano and vocals, but the lyrics hit you hard in the tummy. These statements can be said about nearly every song on the 28-minute therapy session of grief and loss, but do not let these words push you away from this album. I recommend everyone listen to what Matt Pryor has to offer; maybe this will let him write one more fun song.



Track listing:

  1. Mary
  2. A Small Explosion
  3. Sidney
  4. I Won’t Be Afraid
  5. Stay
  6. Where Is Juan Carlos?
  7. When We Go Wrong
  8. Risk
  9. Is This Home?
  10. Virginia
Tom Dumarey
Tom Dumarey

Lacking the talent to actually play in a band, Tom decided he would write about bands instead. Turns out his writing skills are mediocre at best as well.