Album Reviews

Happy, Smiling and Living The Dream
Hot Mass Happy, Smiling and Living The Dream Punk Rock Theory
Thursday, October 13, 2022 - 09:13
submitted by

Following the release of their debut record ‘Nervous Tensions’ in 2016, Swansea, UK punks Hot Mass are back with the satirically named ‘Happy, Smiling And Living The Dream’, a bit of a dig on current world affairs and modern lifestyles.

One listen to ‘Happy, Smiling And Living The Dream’ and it immediately becomes clear that Hot Mass don’t have to pretend that they are better than they are. The 12 bangers that make up the album are just an absolute pleasure to listen to. Imagine taking all the best parts of bands as diverse as Off With Their Heads, The Menzingers, The Copyrights and Pup and then spicing it up even more with some early college rock and 90’s grunge influences.

That may sound like these songs are all over the place, but Hot Mass actually manage to mold everything into a cohesive whole that is bursting at the seams with crispy riffs and melodies that are catchier than an STD. Don’t sleep on this album!


Happy, Smiling and Living The Dream track list:

  1. Remember, the nearest exit may be behind you
  2. Lung Capacity    
  3. AstroTurf
  4. Small Talk Champion
  5. A Literal Century    
  6. Hell, Now
  7. The Dissonant Four
  8. Shine On
  9. Callous
  10. Who’s Who
  11. Circadian Rhythms
  12. Ungakhali


Tom Dumarey
Tom Dumarey

Lacking the talent to actually play in a band, Tom decided he would write about bands instead. Turns out his writing skills are mediocre at best as well.