Album Reviews

The Dancer
Cocaine Piss - The Dancer
Monday, October 3, 2016 - 15:57
submitted by

Having a hard time waking up in the morning? Need a soundtrack to drown out those annoying sounds (aka colleagues) at work? Meet Cocaine Piss. Wait, what? Yes, you got it… Cocaine Piss. No chance in hell you will ever forget that name.


The same thing goes for “The Dancer”. You don’t have to like it, but there’s no way you will be able to ignore this thing once opening track “Ugly Face On” blasts out the speakers. This Belgian band around Aurélie Poppins doesn’t tread gently. Instead they prefer to pummel your ass into the ground with riffs like barbed wire and an absolutely unstoppable rhythm section. And unlike that other Poppins, Aurélie doesn’t get all supercalifragilisticexpialidocious on songs like “Sex Weirdos” or “Black Speedo”. She has points to make about gender equality and does so with a high-pitched, shrieking voice over short blasts of noisy as fuck punk. Think of the riot grrrl vibe of bands like Bikini Kill and mix it with the Dead Kennedys’ vitriolic sense of humor.


The band recorded “The Dancer” with Steve Albini in his Chicago studio and the man’s approach to recording suits Cocaine Piss perfectly. “The Dancer” is a raw, messy album that constantly borders on chaotic. And it’s friggin’ awesome.


Track listing:

  1. Ugly face on
  2. Sex weirdos
  3. Cosmic bullshit
  4. The dancer
  5. Plastic plants
  6. Average romance
  7. Shiny pants
  8. Elegance
  9. Sport things
  10. This is no fashion show
  11. The player without a team
  12. Black speedo
  13. Happiness