Album Reviews

Wednesday, August 8, 2018 - 17:51
submitted by

- by Tom Dumarey

The Indianapolis pop-punks known as Amuse are back with a new album. Produced by Mike Felumlee of Smoking Popes fame, ‘Shortcuts’ comes with a dozen fresh pop-punk jams that have as much to do with early Blink-182 and Nerf Herder as they do with Lookout! bands like The Lillingtons. Yup, this is 90ies pop-punk done right.

It’s not like they are rewriting the rulebook here. Instead they read the whole thing until it fell apart, took from it what they needed and then started writing catchy as hell songs like ‘The Truth Is Out There’ and ‘A New Hopeless’. Original? Not very. But that doesn’t mean they aren’t a lot of fun to spend some time with.


Track listing:

  1. I Don't Want To    
  2. The Truth Is Out There    
  3. Never Alone    
  4. Fantasy    
  5. Sinking Ship    
  6. A New Hopeless    
  7. Curse Today    
  8. Thrasher    
  9. Rad Times    
  10. Life Sucks    
  11. Baka    
  12. Lost Yourself