Album Reviews

This Is Moscow Not LA
Svetlanas – This Is Moscow Not LA
Friday, August 18, 2017 - 20:12
submitted by

Supposedly, Svetlanas is one of the most dangerous bands in the world and supposedly they are considered enemies of the state in their native Russia. For their new album, they teamed up with Nick Oliveri (The Dwarves, QOTSA), a man who knows a thing or two of his own about raising hell. The result? “This Is Moscow Not LA”, a collection of ten raging hardcore punk songs about getting drunk, some political commentaries and borscht because… you know, they’re from Russia.


In itself there is absolutely nothing wrong with hyperactive punk rock songs like “Lose Control”, “Vodka ‘N Roll” or that cover of Motorhead’s “Speedfreak”. It’s nothing you haven’t heard before, but there have plenty of energy and I imagine they can kick off a pit or two at the band’s shows. But I seriously can’t wrap my head around Olga Svetlana’s grating vocals that come with an exaggerated Russian accent that is usually reserved for the bad guy in a crappy Steven Seagal movie. It make nails on a chalkboard sound about as annoying as two cuddling bunnies. If you don’t have a problem with Olga’s vocals however, you will find a perfectly fine album in “This Is Moscow Not LA”.


Track listing:

  1. Putin On Da Hitz
  2. Lose Control
  3. Tell Me Why
  4. Let's Get Drunk
  5. Vodka N' Roll
  6. Negative Approach
  7. Speed Freak
  8. Put Your Middle Fingers Up
  9. Where Is My Borscht
  10. People Suck



Tom Dumarey
Tom Dumarey

Lacking the talent to actually play in a band, Tom decided he would write about bands instead. Turns out his writing skills are mediocre at best as well.