Album Reviews

Hello, Cruel World
School Damage Hello, Cruel World Punk Rock Theory
Wednesday, November 21, 2018 - 08:21
submitted by

- by Tom Dumarey

Toronto punks School Damage have released their sophomore album, 'Hello, Cruel World,' which you can pick up through Rad Girlfriend Records (USA), Bad Candy Records (Canada) or I Buy Records (Europe).

The album comes with 12 songs worth of thrashy, snotty and melodic punk rock. It’s loud, raw and catchy and played with the kind of reckless abandon that seems to be fueled by lots of alcohol. Yeah, it occasionally leads to a sloppily played guitar solo. But it also leads to cuts like ‘I Don’t Like What I’ve Become’, ‘Your Generation’ and ‘Stranger Fruit’, which are the kind of punk rock songs that make you want to scream along until you are red in the face while pounding your fist in the air.


Track listing:

  1. Bastard Case    
  2. I Don't Like What I've Become    
  3. Thin Skin    
  4. Your Generation    
  5. I Seen You In The Orbits    
  6. We're Dying Dudes    
  7. After The Green Rush    
  8. Six Degrees Of Kevin Berger    
  9. Stranger Fruit    
  10. Bad Moon Rising    
  11. You Remind Me    
  12. Foreign Policy


Tom Dumarey
Tom Dumarey

Lacking the talent to actually play in a band, Tom decided he would write about bands instead. Turns out his writing skills are mediocre at best as well.