Album Reviews

Starter Jackets - Decisions
Sunday, March 18, 2018 - 11:56
submitted by

‘Decisions’ is Starter Jackets’ debut album and will be out soon-ish via Rad Girlfriend Records.

Starter who?

Starter Jackets. Remember that name. This Springfield, IL band is the latest creative outlet for Luke McNeill of The Copyrights/Hospital Job along with fellow Hospital Job/Attic Salt’s Fred Malcolm on drums, Attic Salt’ Lanny Durbin on guitar/vocals and newcomer Tyler Curry on bass. That’s a lot of awesomeness for one band and it shows.

The album comes with ten songs of the power pop variety and all of them are… well, friggin’ great would be one way to put it. Fans of the Copyrights and Hospital Job will find all the melodic goodness they have come to expect in cuts like '16 Bit' and 'Authority Problem,' complete with big dollops of keyboards thrown in for good measure. Other songs like 'Only Thing You're Bad At' and 'Loud Loud Brain' reminded me of a smoother version of Atom & His Package. Either way, Starter Jackets crank out slick chorus after catchy hook and will considerably brighten up your day in just 25 minutes.


Track listing:

  1. 16 Bit
  2. Only Thing You're Bad At
  3. Northender
  4. Loud Loud Brain
  5. Dream Team
  6. Darker Than Space
  7. Grandview Cleanup
  8. Authority Problem
  9. Burned Books
  10. You Had Me At Goodbye


Tom Dumarey
Tom Dumarey

Lacking the talent to actually play in a band, Tom decided he would write about bands instead. Turns out his writing skills are mediocre at best as well.