Album Reviews

The Aging Punk
The Reaganomics The Aging Punk Punk Rock Theory
Sunday, February 2, 2020 - 12:31
submitted by

In opener ‘The Four Cliches,’ The Reaganomics express their wish to write a good punk song this year while also letting us in on the secret that in order to do so, they first have to find out what is hip. As it turns out, they never quite found out what is hip and instead ended up writing thirteen absolute bangers that will leave hip kids shaking in their boots. Or in whatever it is hip kids wear. Never been privy to that information.

‘The Aging Punk’is the band’s first new album since 2011’s ‘Lower The Bar’. Not sure what they have been up to in the meantime. Adulting probably. But it’s obvious that music has been on their mind the entire time. Think of excellent melodic punk rock, humorous lyrics and then add way too many dual guitar riffs and solos on here to keep count of. Pretty much the only time they aren’t shredding like crazy, is when they rip into another singalong chorus. These guys are taking metal worship to a whole new level and still manage to write some of the catchiest, most tongue-in-cheek punk rock songs around.


Track listing:

  1. The Four Cliches
  2. Dear Jaymez
  3. Dunzo
  4. Happy Birthday Jeff
  5. Mountains
  6. Worth A Damn
  7. STFU
  8. Meth Gator
  9. Grown Ass Man
  10. Don't Be An Asshole
  11. Kingmaker
  12. Summer Maiden
  13. Confessions Of A Snowflake Lib-Tard
Tom Dumarey
Tom Dumarey

Lacking the talent to actually play in a band, Tom decided he would write about bands instead. Turns out his writing skills are mediocre at best as well.