Album Reviews

Ratboys - GN
Saturday, July 8, 2017 - 10:22
submitted by

Chicago’s Ratboys already left a favorable impression with their first album, 2015’s “AOID”. Since then they have with the likes of Sorority Noise, Pet Symmetry and Pinegrove, and became more confident and comfortable because of it.  And it shows on “GN”, the band’s sophomoric album that is out now via Topshelf.


With one foot in the DIY punk scene and the other planted firmly in country twang, their songs are as energized as they are heartwarming. Whether it’s the slide guitar in “Elvis In The Freezer”, the ripping solo in opening track “Molly” or the acoustic stylings of “GM”, there is a lot going on on this album and it’s all good. Add Julia Steiner’s delicate and beautiful voice to the mix and you are looking at an album that is shining way brighter than their debut.


Track listing:

  1. Molly
  2. Elvis is in the Freezer
  3. Westside
  4. Control
  5. Crying About the Planets
  6. Dangerous Visions
  7. Wandered
  8. GM
  9. The Record
  10. Peter the Wild Boy
Tom Dumarey
Tom Dumarey

Lacking the talent to actually play in a band, Tom decided he would write about bands instead. Turns out his writing skills are mediocre at best as well.