Album Reviews

du und ich
Pohgoh du und ich  Punk Rock Theory
Thursday, November 24, 2022 - 09:32
submitted by

Out now on Spartan Records, is Pohgoh’s third album ‘du und ich’. That’s German for ‘you and me,’ an us-against-the-world sentiment that resonates throughout the album’s 12 songs.

Formed in 1994, Pohgoh cut their teeth in the 90’s DIY/indie underground alongside other female-fronted bands like Rainer Maria and Jejune only to then call it a day before the release of their debut full-length, ‘In Memory Of Bab’. But the band reformed in 2016 and ‘du und ich’ is  the band’s second new album since the reunion.

Tracks like opener ‘Now I Know’, previously released single ‘Weeds’ and - my personal favorite - the Weakerthans-y ‘Planet Houston’ paint a good picture of what Pohgoh stands for. ‘du und ich’ packs a dozen songs worth of sprawling indie rock with a healthy dose of twinkling Midwest emo that harken back to the 90’s, yet still sound very much like today.  That said, while all of the songs shine bright enough on their own, I do find my attention drifting away when I sit down to listen to the whole album. Not sure why that is exactly, because there is plenty to enjoy on this carefully crafted love letter to the sounds of the 90’s.


du und ich track listing:

  1. Now I Know
  2. Over / Under
  3. Anger In The Belly
  4. Weeds
  5. Planet Houston
  6. Hammer
  7. Interlude
  8. Not Cool
  9. House Burned Down
  10. I Never Remember My Dreams
  11. Heavy
  12. Words Are Harder
Tom Dumarey
Tom Dumarey

Lacking the talent to actually play in a band, Tom decided he would write about bands instead. Turns out his writing skills are mediocre at best as well.