Album Reviews

Pink Mexico Dump Punk Rock Theory
Monday, March 4, 2019 - 14:51
submitted by

- by Tom Dumarey

Brooklyn’s three piece Pink Mexico don’t mess around on ‘DUMP’. They are just loud and abrasive enough to get up all in your face, but melodic enough so that you don’t really mind. Check out opening track ‘Thumbsucker’ or ‘Dirty And Stupid’ for some of those big drums that will pummel your ass, buzzing, fuzz-laden riffs and vocals that are just the right kind of hazy. Think FIDLAR (before they were sober) meets Culture Abuse (before they were singing about bees) meets Wavves.

They will occasionally bring down the wall of sound and at those rare moments, the melodies shine pretty bright. But they get a bigger kick out of getting all sludgy (‘Rattlebrain’) or cranking their fuzzed up, garage-y punk attack all the way up and... well, I don’t particularly mind because they are pretty friggin good at it. Things do start to sound a bit same-y later on in the album, but the fun doesn’t wear off until the last notes of ‘Heartfist’ have rung out.


Track listing:

  1. Thumbsucker
  2. High Dive
  3. Prescription Overdose
  4. Dirty & Stupid
  5. Sex Happiness
  6. Girlfriend
  7. WSLY
  8. Shit River
  9. Rattle Brain
  10. Fuckhead
  11. Liberty Kid
  12. Psycho Juice


Tom Dumarey
Tom Dumarey

Lacking the talent to actually play in a band, Tom decided he would write about bands instead. Turns out his writing skills are mediocre at best as well.