Album Reviews

Mozes and the Firstborn Dadcore
Wednesday, January 16, 2019 - 07:45
submitted by

- by Nate Hennon

After a month of being inundated with songs about Santa Clause's travel plans, wondering about places covered in snow and wassail, Mozes and the Firstborn's "Dadcore" is a nice palette cleanser. With their desire to interpret modern rock music, or Dadcore, as nearly anything with electric instruments, Mozes and the Firstborn prove they can play almost any type of music competently. From Indie drone rock to Alt-Country, "Dadcore" is an exploration of sounds that has something for any "dad." 

I found the eponymous track, "Dadcore," to be truly delightful. The song, and album, open with a spelling lesson and a solo guitar. From here the rest of the band kicks in with a simplified dance beat and an impossibly catchy groove chorus. This song sets a great tone for "Dadcore"; this album will be seriously fun and slightly 'tongue-in-cheek.' They hooked me.

The best part of "Dadcore" is the fact that each song is different. Mozes and the Firstborn's choice to tackle numerous genres on the album means if you don't like one song, skip it. The next song will offer you something else that you will love. 


Track listing:

  1. D
  2. Dadcore (feat. together PANGEA)
  3. A
  4. If I
  5. Baldy
  6. D
  7. Sad Supermarket Song
  8. Fly Out I
  9. Blow Up
  10. C
  11. Hello
  12. O
  13. Scotch Tape/Stick With Me (feat. Kelsey Reckling)
  14. We’re All Saints
  15. R
  16. Amen
  17. E
  18. Fly Out II