Album Reviews

Never Gonna Die
Pennywise Never Gonna Die
Thursday, April 19, 2018 - 17:09
submitted by

I first discovered Pennywise with their 1995 album ‘About Time’. Since then, every subsequent release has come with the same number of surprises. None. Zero. Zilch. These guys always sound the same. Is that a bad thing? Not really. Take ‘Never Gonna Die’ for example.

On their twelfth album, they… well, they sound like Pennywise. Fast, sturdy rhythms peppered with Fletcher’s trademark chunky riffs and then Jim’s characteristic vocals on top of it all. It’s a tried-and-true formula, but it still works. If for some reason you weren’t a fan of Pennywise before, suffice to say they won’t change your mind with this one. But if you still find yourself humming… say, ‘Fuck Authority’ from time to time, then ‘Never Gonna Die’ comes with 14 perfectly fine variations on that song to hum along to.


Track listing:

  1. Never Gonna Die
  2. American Lies
  3. Keep Moving On
  4. Live While You Can
  5. We Set Fire
  6. She Said
  7. Can’t Be Ignored
  8. Goodbye Bad Times
  9. A Little Hope
  10. Won’t Give Up The Fight
  11. Can’t Save You Now
  12. All The Ways U Can Die
  13. Listen
  14. Something New
Tom Dumarey
Tom Dumarey

Lacking the talent to actually play in a band, Tom decided he would write about bands instead. Turns out his writing skills are mediocre at best as well.