Album Reviews

Basking In The Glow
Oso Oso Basking In The Glow Punk Rock Theory
Sunday, September 1, 2019 - 16:08
submitted by

- by Tom Dumarey

Oso Oso - aka Long Island singer-songwriter Jade Lilitri - is back with his third album, ‘Basking In The Glow’. It is the result of his decision to be more positive and ‘radically commit to letting the light in’. Wise decision as it turns out. Not just because being negative all the time kinda sucks, but also because this new attitude led to an excellent album that is as catchy as it is bright and shiny.

After having earned a fair amount of buzz with the release of 2017’s ‘The Yunahon Mixtape,’ Lilitri more than delivers on ‘Basking In The Glow’. If you were to draw a Venn diagram with Jimmy Eat World on one side and early Death Cab on the other, these ten songs are what you would find in that sweet spot in the middle.

From the one-two punch that is ‘Intro’ and ‘The View’ right up until closing track ‘Charlie,’ these songs have an almost effortless flow to them that pulls you right in and makes you want to stay there. Add downright beautiful, at times underplayed melodies that drift in and then fade away and little unexpected twists - like that little break in ‘A Morning Song’ right before the hook kicks in - and you will find yourself indeed, basking in the glow.


Track listing:

  1. Intro
  2. The View
  3. Basking In The Glow
  4. Dig
  5. One Sick Plan
  6. A Morning Song
  7. Priority Change
  8. Wake Up Next To God
  9. Impossible Game
  10. Charlie