Album Reviews

Hidden Vigorish
Nightmarathons Hidden Vigorish Punk Rock Theory
Monday, November 28, 2022 - 20:41
submitted by

Last month, Pittsburgh punks Nightmarathons surprise released their new album, ‘Hidden Vigorish’. It’s the band’s second album and instead of giving in to the dreaded sophomore slump, they have written an album that Against Me! could have recorded between ‘As The Eternal Cowboy’ and ‘In Search Of A Former Clarity’.

Lines are delivered with the same kind of snarky bite, riffs are stacked with melancholy and the band seems determined to bang out anthem-aspiring singalong choruses until the wheels come off. And to make things even sweeter, there are hints of Iron Chic, RVIVR and Samiam to be discovered as well. Nightmarathons lose a little bit of steam in the album’s second half, but there is no denying that they have sharpened their focus since the release of 2019’s ‘Missing Parts’, making ‘Hidden Vigorish’ a recommended album for fans of gruff-voiced punk rock.


Hidden Vigorish track list:

  1. Better    
  2. Senseless    
  3. Abandon    
  4. Wrong    
  5. Elevator    
  6. Complicated    
  7. Enough    
  8. Bridge    
  9. Deadline    
  10. Getaway    
  11. Not The End


Tom Dumarey
Tom Dumarey

Lacking the talent to actually play in a band, Tom decided he would write about bands instead. Turns out his writing skills are mediocre at best as well.