Album Reviews

Nervous Birds! One
Night Court Nervous Birds! One Punk Rock Theory
Sunday, January 30, 2022 - 18:06
submitted by

Featuring members of Autogramm, Jiffy Marker, Pet Blessings and Synchromantics, Night Court is a new band out of Vancouver. The band’s debut album’Nervous Birds! One’ is out now on Debt Offensive Records and Snappy Little Numbers, and as the title suggests, part two is already on its way.

Apparentley, these guys wrote and recorded about 30 songs, 26 of which they decided to keep and spread out over two releases. What it sounds like? Well, its kinda hard to narrow down Night Court’s sound to be honest. It’s bits and pieces of 80’s post-punk, 90’s melodic punk rock, garage-y  Marked Men pop-punk with a lo-fi vibe puzzled together blended together in something resembling a cohesive whole, held together with duct tape.

Clocking in at just 20 minutes, the album’s thirteen songs fall under the blink-and-you-might-miss-it category. Which would be a shame because cuts like opener ‘Circus Of Wolves’, ‘Boat In Idle’ and previously released single ‘Fractions’ are all kinds of awesome. The whole thing feels kinda rough around the edges, spontaneous and bursting at the seams with great melodies and tons of energy. Sure, it kinda sounds like they threw everything at it but the kitchen sink, but somehow it all works together nicely.


Fires Forming track list:

  1. Circus Of Wolves
  2. Yr Driving
  3. Boat In Idle
  4. Fractions
  5. Noisemaker
  6. Late For Dinner
  7. Interlude
  8. Diagnosis Weirdo
  9. The Question
  10. Drop the Bomb
  11. Together Apart
  12. Johnny Rocket
  13. Lost And Found
Tom Dumarey
Tom Dumarey

Lacking the talent to actually play in a band, Tom decided he would write about bands instead. Turns out his writing skills are mediocre at best as well.