Album Reviews

Masked Intruder III Punk Rock Theory
Wednesday, March 6, 2019 - 19:36
submitted by

- by Nate Hennon

Masked Intruder is one of the best live experiences I have ever had. Their songs, their stage presence and the way they work the crows is superb and only enhanced by their gimmick. For the uninitiated, Masked Intruder is a Pop Punk band from Madison, Wisconsin whose members wear colored ski masks (that match the colors of their instruments and shoes) on stage and never reveal their faces or identities. Also, most of their lyrical content is stereotypical "pop-punk," but with real-world consequences and... well, felonies. For instance, "Heart Shaped Guitar" is a poppy duet between a boy and a girl, but the boy's affection is not reciprocated and by the end of the song the girl may get a restraining order against her stalker. You know, fun stuff (no sarcasm).

Now that we established a little MI 101 (which if you are reading this was not required), I want to address their latest release, "III." For starters, this album - their first for Pure Noise Records - is a slight change for Masked Intruder. Everything we love about these guys is still there, but instead of a straight-forward Punk sound, "III" has more of an 80s Hair Metal vibe. Masked Intruder has bigger guitars this time around, both in sound and riffs, and have added some studio magic. The overall sound of this album is super polished. This is not to say their previous releases were unlistenable, but I get the impression Masked Intruder was looking to do more on "III." These notable changes do not change Masked Intuder though; the songs are still about girls and committing crimes, but now with added keyboards and fireworks. Okay, I admit... the fireworks are a guess on my part.

That said, Masked Intruder really can do no wrong. Every album is fantastic and I look forward to catching up with these criminals on their "III" promotional tour. I suggest you do too.  


Track listing:

  1. No Case
  2. Mine All Mine
  3. All of My Love
  4. Just So You Know
  5. I’m Free (At Last)
  6. Please Come Back To Me
  7. B & E
  8. Maybe Even
  9. Not Fair
  10. Stay With Me Tonight
  11. Dream a Little Dream
  12. I’ll Be Back Again Someday 
Tom Dumarey
Tom Dumarey

Lacking the talent to actually play in a band, Tom decided he would write about bands instead. Turns out his writing skills are mediocre at best as well.