Album Reviews

Hey Summer
Lost Balloons - Hey Summer
Tuesday, June 20, 2017 - 19:03
submitted by

When Jeff Burke (Marked Men, Radioactivity and a gazillion other bands) and Yusuke Okada (Suspicious Beasts) released Lost Balloons’ debut album two years ago via Germany’s Alien Snatch Records, it pretty much flew under everyone’s radar. A damn shame, because the world is always in need of more good power-pop songs.


They are giving it another go now with “Hey Summer”, a solid collection of twelve breezy, shimmering gems that are big on melody and low on distortion. Yes, this is the least punk release Burke has been involved with to date and probably sits closer to Okada’s take on garage rock with his Beasts. Is that a bad thing? Hell no. The hooks and energy are still very much intact, but instead of hiding the vocals under layers of distorted guitars, they are right there front and center, backed up by acoustic guitars, horns, slide guitar and organ.


So what does that leave you with? A dozen sun-drenched, 60ies-inspired, jangly pop songs that make for a perfect soundtrack to a carefree summer.


Track listing:

  1. Change Your Mind
  2. Not My Time
  3. Paint
  4. Don't Find Me
  5. Numb
  6. Feed The Pain
  7. Losing Time
  8. Hey Summer
  9. Can't Win
  10. You Tried
  11. Nobody
  12. Noose


Tom Dumarey
Tom Dumarey

Lacking the talent to actually play in a band, Tom decided he would write about bands instead. Turns out his writing skills are mediocre at best as well.