Album Reviews

Looming Seed
Sunday, October 22, 2017 - 20:22
submitted by

If you’ve heard 2015’s “Nailbiter”, you are already familiar with Jessica Knight’s distinctive vocals. You either love them or hate them. There doesn’t seem to be much wiggle room. I happen to like her voice, except for when she goes overboard with the vibrato. Which maybe happens just a bit too often? Then again, when juxtaposed against drummer Brandon Carnes’ voice, the two of them go together great and lift the song to the next level.


Musically, Looming seems a bit more contemplative on their new album. It’s all driving indie rock with emo touches and a dark, ominous vibe. Which should hardly come as a surprise seeing as the band is called Looming. Fact is, I’m not head over heels with “Seed”. But I can’t quite let go of the album either. So here’s to hoping it will all come together perfectly on their next album?


Track listing:

  1. Intro
  2. Down
  3. Queen
  4. Tried & True    
  5. Seed    
  6. Smoke    
  7. Input    
  8. Majesty    
  9. Leaves    
  10. Waves    
  11. Lace
Tom Dumarey
Tom Dumarey

Lacking the talent to actually play in a band, Tom decided he would write about bands instead. Turns out his writing skills are mediocre at best as well.