Album Reviews

Distortion Days
Heavy Seas Distortion Days Punk Rock Theory
Sunday, January 28, 2024 - 10:39
submitted by

Heavy Seas is back with another album that further blurs the lines between punk, emo and post-hardcore. On ‘Distortion Days,’ the Chicago-based trio burns through ten songs that pay tribute to the city’s rich musical history, while still managing to put together something uniquely their own.

Produced by J. Robbins (Jawbox, Office Of Future Plans,…), the album comes chock full of riffs that swerve, dodge, jab and stab while the lyrics explore themes of self-discovery, existentialism and the turbulence of modern life. Themes that have quite a lot of meat on their bones, something that they have in common with the riffs, massive-sounding drums and punchy basslines.

Fronted by Jeff Dean (The Bomb, Airstream Futures, All Eyes West)  and rounded out by drummer Ronnie DiCola (All Eyes West, The Arrivals) and bassist Katie Karpowicz (Airstream Futures), Heavy Seas have created an album that sounds way more expansive than its 36-minute running time would have you believe and has a lot to offer for fans of Thursday, Quicksand and Hum alike.


Distortion Days track list:

  1. Distortion Days
  2. Sunn
  3. Idle in Life
  4. Feel it Fade
  5. Locked into Night
  6. Acceptance
  7. Depression Industry
  8. Obfuscate the World
  9. Satiated
  10. Empty Space


Tom Dumarey
Tom Dumarey

Lacking the talent to actually play in a band, Tom decided he would write about bands instead. Turns out his writing skills are mediocre at best as well.