Album Reviews

Second Landing
Giant Eagles Second Landing Punk Rock Theory
Sunday, June 7, 2020 - 15:16
submitted by

Dutch punk rock outfit Giant Eagles is back at it with a dozen new twisted tales of murder, zombies, evil robots and killer snakes and in the case of ‘Everything Is Lost,’ an almost obscene amount of whoa oh’s.

Consisting of former and current members of The Windowsill, The Apers and Lone Wolf, Giant Eagles have all the experience they need to whip out dark yet extremely catchy pop punk songs. It’s really no surprise then that ‘Second Landing’ comes with twelve prime slices of extremely melodic pop punk. Sure, it’s all kinda sugary and the heavy sprinklings of synth sounds make things even sweeter, yet there is still plenty of rocking out going on in cuts like opener ‘Bloodlust Tonight’, ‘Evil Robot Nation’ and ‘Anaconda’. Think 80’s Ramones (but not the shitty songs) and synth-enhanced Teenage Bottlerocket and you’ll have a pretty firm grasp of what to expect on ‘Second Landing’.


Track listing:

  1. Bloodlust Tonight    
  2. Everything Is Lost    
  3. My Wish Is Your Command    
  4. Evil Robot Nation    
  5. I Don't Love Nobody    
  6. Lost My Heart Overseas    
  7. Anaconda    
  8. Soundbound    
  9. Supreme    
  10. Outta Love    
  11. Zombie Apocalypse    
  12. Put One In The Chamber


Tom Dumarey
Tom Dumarey

Lacking the talent to actually play in a band, Tom decided he would write about bands instead. Turns out his writing skills are mediocre at best as well.