Album Reviews

Light a Candle for the Lonely
Ghost Work Light a Candle for the Lonely Punk Rock Theory
Sunday, April 28, 2024 - 14:23
submitted by

Remember Ghost Work from their 2020 debut ‘You’ll Be Buried With’? In case you haven’t had the pleasure of encountering this band before, no worries… they are giving you another chance with their new album which comes with an equally uplifting title as their debut. ‘Light A Candle For The Lonely’ packs 11 new songs that fans of 90’s post-hardcore and post-punk should know what to do with.

Comprised of vocalist Aaron Stauffer (Seaweed), bassist Dustin Perry (Snapcase, Threadbare), guitarist Sean Husick (Milemarker), and drummer Erin Tate (Minus the Bear, Killsadie), Ghost Work is something of a supergroup. Sure, that term has been tossed around so much it has pretty much lost all meaning. But this sure is a lot of badassery for one band.

While the band’s debut album was already a lot of fun to listen to, it still left some room for improvement. Which is definitely the case on ‘Light A Candle For The Lonely’. The band really hits their stride this time around as everything blends together better and the melancholy melodies shine brighter. Influences of the band’s previous musical outings may be audible, but Ghost Work injects a healthy amount of propulsive post-punk in their songs without ending up sounding like one of the zillion bands out there who have jumped on the post-punk bandwagon. Instead, Ghost Work managed to carve out their own little space and it sounds pretty sweet.


Light a Candle for the Lonely track list:

  1. Godspeed on the Trail
  2. Earthquake
  3. Erase the Morning
  4. Grapes and Chrome
  5. Orange of the Flame
  6. Line 2
  7. The Tea Leaves
  8. Under the Fire
  9. Conjured Leverage
  10. Twilight of Hope
  11. Wayward Northern
Tom Dumarey
Tom Dumarey

Lacking the talent to actually play in a band, Tom decided he would write about bands instead. Turns out his writing skills are mediocre at best as well.