Album Reviews

The Kids Will Know It’s Bullshit
Dune Rats – The Kids Will Know It’s Bullshit
Tuesday, February 28, 2017 - 15:19
submitted by

Canada has Pkew Pkew Pkew, the US has FIDLAR and I guess Australia has the Dune Rats, who have recently released their second album, “The Kids Will Know It’s Bullshit.”

Written in Aussie beach shacks, out in the middle of Joshua Tree and in an RV while touring the US, Dune Rats pack plenty of punk rock energy, big hooks and an overall party atmosphere in songs that are as easily digestible as the alcohol and drugs they like to sing about.

Produced by FIDLAR frontman Zac Carper, songs like “6 Pack”, “Never Gonna Get High” and “Bullshit” are catchy and come with plenty of singalong moments. Just like Pkew Pkew Pkew, Dune Rats come at you with a youthful exuberance that is nothing but contagious and a helluva lot of fun. The only thing that kinda annoys me is that they have a tendency to repeat the same line over and over. Then again, it goes well with their ‘drunk guy at a party’ vibe.


Track listing:

  1. Don't Talk
  2. 6 Pack
  3. Demolition Derby
  4. Braindead
  5. Scott Green
  6. Never Gonna Get High
  7. Like Before
  8. Counting Sheep
  9. Buzz-kill
  10. Mary
  11. Bullshit
Tom Dumarey
Tom Dumarey

Lacking the talent to actually play in a band, Tom decided he would write about bands instead. Turns out his writing skills are mediocre at best as well.