Album Reviews

Believes In You
Crossed Keys Believes In You Punk Rock Theory
Tuesday, October 24, 2023 - 20:30
submitted by

Philly-based band Crossed Keys (ft. members of Kid Dynamite, Ink & Dagger, Step Ahead, Kill The Man Who Questions, Zolof The Rock & Roll Destroyer, Halo Of Snakes and The Curse) recently released the follow-up to their 2019 debut album. ‘Believes In You’ (out now on Sell The Heart Records, Creep Records & Dead Satellite Records) comes at you with ten new slices of uplifting, positivity-riddled melodic punk tunes that will soften even the most jaded and cynical among us.

Like a more aggressive version of Samiam with dollops of No Motiv and Lonely Kings, this band deals strictly in high energy and melody. They swoop you up with openening track ‘Victim Complex’,take you on a ride along the slightly darker ‘RIP Arch Street’, the bright and shiny ‘Vina Park’and the 90s emo-speckled ‘Middle Light’before dropping you off with the fast-paced ‘Who We Never Were’.

There is a lot going on on ‘Believes In You’, but it speaks volumes of the band’s experience that they manage to reel in all that manic energy into 10 solid songs.


Believes In You track list:

  1. Victim Complex
  2. RIP Arch Street
  3. If You Don’t Love Yourself
  4. Film Score
  5. Middle Light
  6. Vina Park
  7. Stranger Danger
  8. Pucho
  9. Rot Troll
  10. Who We Never Were
Tom Dumarey
Tom Dumarey

Lacking the talent to actually play in a band, Tom decided he would write about bands instead. Turns out his writing skills are mediocre at best as well.